Vital Records (Birth/Death/Marriage/Divorce/Certificates)

Need an Alabama birth, death, marriage or divorce certificate?

You may apply for an Alabama vital record at the main Health Department site in downtown Mobile. It’s easy. Fill out an application at the site and give payment and application to the clerk. You may also download an application and fill it out beforehand.

Main Health Center
251.690.8150
251 North Bayou St., Mobile

Our office is open for processing certificates from 7:30 a.m. to 4:30 p.m., Monday through Friday.

MCHD is asking that all clients use the front door at the Keeler Memorial Building (251 North Bayou St. in Downtown Mobile) for screening prior to entering the agency for vital statistics. Only three clients can be seen at a time.

Fees for certificates are $15 for the first certified copy and $6 for each additional certified copy (of the same record) when ordered at the same time.

Fees may be paid by the following methods:

  • Cash
  • Personal checks or money orders for the exact amount payable to “Mobile County Health Dept.” with the Driver License number and expiration date on them. (all locations)
  • Credit or debit card (main health center only) [Note: There is a $1.95 administrative fee for credit and debit transactions]

Name change information and application to be mailed to the Alabama Department of Public Health in Montgomery. For any other vital record issues, please visit the Health Department’s 251 North Bayou St. location. For further information, call the Vital Records Office at 251.690.8150 or 251.690.8113; write Center for Health Statistics, P.O. Box 5625, Montgomery, AL 36103-5625; or call 334.206.5418.

Only Alabama birth, death, marriage or divorce certificates are available through this service.

Restrictions for death certificate records

By Alabama law, death certificates are confidential records with restricted access for 25 years from the date of death. Death certificates more than 25 years old may be obtained by anyone upon payment of the proper fee.  Death certificates less than 25 years old may be obtained by the following persons, upon payment of the proper fee:

  • Mother or father of person named on certificate
  • Husband or wife of person named on certificate
  • Son or daughter of person named on certificate
  • Sister or brother of person named on certificate
  • Grandchild of person named on the certificate when demonstrating entitlement
  • Legal representative of family or estate
  • Informant listed on the death certificate as providing information

Information regarding birth or death records

The Alabama Center for Health Statistics began filing birth and death certificates in 1908 for persons who were either born or who died in Alabama. Birth certificate recording in Mobile, Alabama, began in 1871, and death certificate recording in Mobile, Alabama, began in 1820.

For vital record issues, please visit the Health Department’s 251 North Bayou St. location. For further information, call the Vital Records Office at (251) 690-8150 or (251) 690-8113; write Center for Health Statistics, P.O. Box 5625, Montgomery, AL 36103-5625; or call (334) 206-5418.

Only Alabama birth, death, marriage or divorce certificates are available through this service.

Last Updated on May 20, 2021 by MCHDadmin